Judith Owen Releases “RedisCOVERed” with Leland Sklar

Judith Owen: RedisCOVERedJudith Owen has released RedisCOVERed, and album of reimagined pop and rock songs. While the singer-songwriter has included cover songs in her work before, this is the first time she has dedicated an entire album to it. Songs on RedisCOVERed run the gamut of musical styles with versions of Drake’s “Hotline Bling”, Deep Purple’s “Smoke on the Water”, Soundgarden’s “Black Hole Sun”, and more.

“I’ve always had one or two covers on every record that I’ve done,” Owen told Glide Magazine, “just because I’m inspired by the music that I hear, as well as an exercise in writing for me because, of course, it’s a complete reimagining of the songs and a way of making them autobiographical. The point for me is not to do a lazy cover, cause the original is the best, the original is the greatest, but that’s not it. It’s to find ME and my life and my truth in those songs.”

Owen is once again joined by the rhythm section of percussionist Pedro Segundo and the legendary Leland Sklar. The bassist, who has worked with everyone from James Taylor to Billy Cobham, locks in musically with the singer and percussionist by dishing out a huge, creamy tone. Hear the group tackle Joni Mitchell’s “Ladies’ Man”:

RedisCOVERed is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

RedisCOVERed Track List:

  1. Hotline Bling
  2. Shape of You
  3. Black Hole Sun
  4. Hot Stuff
  5. Cherokee Louise
  6. Can’t Stop the Feeling
  7. Ladies’ Man
  8. Smoke on the Water
  9. Summer Nights
  10. Play That Funky Music
  11. Blackbird
  12. Dream a Little Dream of Me

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts