Marcus Miller Returns with “Laid Black”

Marcus Miller: Laid BlackAfter exploring his musical roots on his 2015 album, Afrodeezia, Marcus Miller has brought things up to date on his new album Laid Black. His iconic bass lines tie a mix of current styles together with killer instrumental melodies.

“‘Afrodeezia’ was like a musical voyage through my history. I followed the journey of my ancestors by collaborating with musicians along the African Slave route,” Miller states. “With ‘Laid Black’ I decided to bring the music right up to the present – using elements from what’s happening in urban music today. So you’ll hear hip-hop, rap, soul, funk, R&B, and jazz on this album. The music is calm but also powerful and funky, drawing on the black musical experience. Laid Black.”

The nine-song collection features his band with guest artists Trombone Shorty, Kirk Whalum, Take Six, Jonathan Butler, and Selah Sue. “My guys are incredibly talented. They play everything from bebop to hip-hop. All of the special guests I called have the same vision about jazz, which made it possible to create this mix of music. Oh, and if you like bass, there’s plenty of serious bass work on this album too!”

Hear some of that bass work on “Trip Trap”:

Laid Black is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Laid Black Track List:

  1. Trip Trap
  2. Que Sera Sera
  3. 7-T’s
  4. Sublimity “Bunny’s Dream”
  5. Untamed
  6. No Limit
  7. Someone To Love
  8. Keep ‘Em Runnin
  9. Preacher’s Kid

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts