Tower of Power Celebrate 50 Years with “Soul Side of Town”

Tower of Power: Soul Side of TownWho knew you could be so funky for so long? Tower of Power is celebrating 50 years of making music in 2018 with a new album called Soul Side of Town. While the band’s lineup has changed up through the years, the album includes original saxophonists Emilio Castillo and Stephen “Doc” Kupka as well as the epic rhythm section of drummer David Garibaldi and bassist Francis “Rocco” Prestia.

“No matter what we do, we keep sounding like Tower of Power — it’s a curse,” band leader Castillo jokes to Billboard. “It’s soul music, but it’s an original style of soul music. We have our own particular signature. We mess with the rhythms a lot and create this rhythm section fabric that’s very unique compared to other artists. And then we always have a real premier lead singer and some unique songwriting, great background vocals, some pretty decent production — that’s what makes Tower of Power.”

Prestia’s signature sound is intact as he propels the groove on the album. Check out “On the Soul Side of Town”:

Soul Side of Town is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Soul Side of Town Track List:

  1. East Bay! All Day!
  2. Hangin’ With My Baby
  3. Do You Like That?
  4. On the Soul Side of Town
  5. Do It with Soul
  6. Love Must Be Patient and Kind
  7. Butter Fried
  8. Selah
  9. Let It Go
  10. Stop
  11. When Love Takes Control
  12. After Hours
  13. Can’t Stop Thinking About You
  14. East Bay! Oakland Style!

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts