Covet Returns with “effloresce”

Covet: effloresceBay Area instrumental trio Covet has released effloresce, which guitarist Yvette Young describes as “post rock intensity meets more proggy/mathy songwriting.” Young’s captivating two-handed tapping technique drives the melodies while drummer Forrest Rice and bassist David Adamiak support with dream-like grooves. Some of that ethereal vibe comes from exploring new harmonic textures, says Adamiak.

“On this recording, we experiment with different harmony. I believe this helps dictate the sonic change in mood and tone from a recording like Currents,” he shares. “Working with new chord changes is exciting because it helps bring out different sides of your own melodic voice you wouldn’t have considered otherwise.”

You can hear that experimentation on the track “Shibuya”, featuring San Holo. Check out the band’s video:

Effloresce is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Effloresce Track List:

  1. Shibuya (Ft. San Holo)
  2. Glimmer
  3. Sea Dragon (Ft. Mario Camarena)
  4. Gleam
  5. Falkor
  6. Howl

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts