Clutch Releases “Book of Bad Decisions”

Clutch: Book of Bad DecisionsClutch has returned with their twelfth studio album, entitled Book of Bad Decisions. While fans can expect the same heavy grooves the band is known for, they also expanded their sound a bit. Bassist Dan Maines explained that working with producer Vance Powell pushed their musical palette.

“He came out on the road with us for about a week right before we went into the studio with him to record, and “In Walked Barbarella” was one of the songs we were playing in our set while he was with us,” he told Wall of Sound. “He immediately told us that it reminded him that Funkadelic or Parliament would’ve done, and he was probably working on horn parts in his mind when we got into the studio to record the song.”

Maines added that adding extra instruments is something the band wrestles with, but the song stands with or without the horns in a live situation. Check it out here:

Book of Bad Decisions is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Book of Bad Decisions Track List:

  1. Gimme the Keys
  2. Spirit of ’76
  3. Book of Bad Decisions
  4. How to Shake Hands
  5. In Walks Barbarella
  6. Vision Quest
  7. Weird Times
  8. Emily Dickinson
  9. Sonic Counselor
  10. A Good Fire
  11. Ghoul Wrangler
  12. HB Is in Control
  13. Hot Bottom Feeder
  14. Paper & Strife
  15. Lorelei

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts