John Patitucci, Renaud Garcia-Fons Featured on Paul Simon’s “In The Blue Light”

Paul Simon In The Blue LightPaul Simon is currently on his farewell concert tour, which may be part of the reasoning for his new semi-retrospective album, In The Blue Light. The 10-song album features fresh perspectives on some of his lesser-known songs from his catalog with tracks taken from seven records.

“This album consists of songs that I thought were almost right, or were odd enough to be overlooked the first time around,” Simon says. “Re-doing arrangements, harmonic structures, and lyrics that didn’t make their meaning clear, gave me time to clarify in my own head what I wanted to say, or realize what I was thinking and make it more easily understood.”

Simon called upon some of the world’s top jazz musicians: Wynton Marsalis, Bill Frisell, Jack DeJohnette, Steve Gadd, and more. The low-end duties are split on the album between John Patitucci and Renaud Garcia-Fons. (We’ll also give Simon credit for playing bass harmonica on “Questions For The Angels”.) You can see Patitucci during the recording session in this EPK:

In The Blue Light is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

In The Blue Light Track List:

  1. One Man’s Ceiling Is Another Man’s Floor
  2. Love
  3. Can’t Run But
  4. How The Heart Approaches What It Yearns
  5. Pigs, Sheep and Wolves
  6. René and Georgette Magritte With Their Dog After the War
  7. The Teacher
  8. Darling Lorraine
  9. Some Folks’ Lives Roll Easy
  10. Questions For The Angels

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts