Art Hirahara Taps Linda May Han Oh for “Sunward Bound”

Art Hirahara: Sunward BoundPianist Art Hirahara has released his fourth solo album, called Sunward Bound. This time he called upon a killer group to fill out his quartet with saxophonist Donny McCaslin, drummer Rudy Royston, and bassist Linda May Han Oh. The lineup helped to fulfill the bandleader’s artistic vision over the 11-track collection.

“I actually wrote this record with all these musicians in mind,” Hirahara explains. “I’m so fortunate they were able to take what was on the written page and really bring it to life.” Oh’s chops are featured right up front on the opening track, “Ruse for Blues Shoes,” as she doubles the piano melody before laying out an angular yet complementary groove.

Get a feel for the album with this trailer:

Sunward Bound is out now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sunward Bound Track List:

  1. Ruse For Blues Shoes
  2. Brooklyn Express
  3. Akatombo
  4. Sunward Bound
  5. Unbound
  6. Points of View
  7. Ringo Oiwake
  8. Beyond Right and Wrong
  9. Up Turn Out
  10. Suspended
  11. Inverted Fountain

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts