Jonathan Scales Fourchestra’s “Pillar” Features All-Star Bassists

Jonathan Scales Fourchestra: PillarJonathan Scales has always had great bassists for his band and his new album only ups the ante. Pillar, which is the steel pannist’s third Fourchestra album, features his full-time bassist E’Lon JD as well as low-end guests Oteil Burbridge, Victor Wooten, and Mononeon. Burbridge anchors the opening track, “Fake Buddha’s Inner Child,” while the latter two are featured together on the track “The Trap.”

“Jonathan Scales is a perfect example of how to make it happen,” Wooten says. “He’s a great musician, a wonderful person, and is always fun to make music with. It is a pleasure to be on his record alongside the amazing Mononeon.”

Other guests on the album feature trumpeter Christian Scott, saxophonist Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band), keyboardist Shaun Martin, percussionist Weedie Braimah and banjo legend Béla Fleck.

Pillar is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Pillar Track List:

  1. Fake Buddha’s Inner Child
  2. We Came Through the Storm
  3. This is the Last Hurrah!
  4. Cry
  5. Focus Poem
  6. Dream-Life State
  7. How to Rebuild Your Battleship
  8. The Trap

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts