Ural Thomas & The Pain Release “The Right Time”

Ural Thomas & The Pain: The Right TimeIf you dig the classic R&B of the late ’60s and early ’70s, you’ll want to check out the new album The Right Time by Ural Thomas and The Pain. Thomas was a soul singer back in that very era and released a few singles including “Can You Dig It,” though he was forced to find other work to make ends meet. Music never left his life, though, and his new work with The Pain is the result of never giving up.

“If you care about what you’re doing, you need to build those muscles and do the work. Don’t get discouraged, do it for love. Even if you’re digging ditches, do it with passion,” Thomas says.

The Pain is anchored by bassist Arcellus Sykes, who taps into some vintage mojo throughout the album. Hear Thomas and the band paint in shades of Motown and James Brown on the track “Slow Down”:

The Right Time is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Right Time Track List:

  1. Slow Down
  2. No Distance (Between You & Me)
  3. Vibrations
  4. You Care Very Little
  5. Smoldering Fire
  6. The Right Time
  7. Gotta Say (I Love You)
  8. Time
  9. Show Ya
  10. Eenie Meenie
  11. Smile

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts