Chris Chaney Anchors New Melissa Etheridge Album

Melissa Etheridge: The Medicine ShowMelissa Etheridge has released The Medicine Show, which marks her 15th studio recording. The album name reflects its themes of “renewal, reconciliation, reckoning, compassion and, most profoundly, healing.”

“Calling the album ‘The Medicine Show’ puts straight up, front and centre, that this is about health, wellness, cannabis, this new thought, new paradigm, however you want to talk about it, however you want to understand it,” Etheridge explains. “It influences every song on the album. We’re not afraid of this anymore. We’ve come a long way.”

The singer is supported by a crack team of session musicians including drummer Victor Indrizzo, keyboardist Max Hart, and Chris Chaney. The bassist, who has worked with artists from Jane’s Addiction to Alanis Morissette, provides just the right groove to compliment the songs.

The Medicine Show is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Medicine Show Track List:

  1. The Medicine Show
  2. Wild And Lonely
  3. Shaking
  4. Woman Like You
  5. Faded By Design
  6. I Know You
  7. This Human Chain
  8. Love Will Live
  9. Here Comes The Pain
  10. Suede
  11. Last Hello

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Max Lian

    I’ve had this album for a few days. Aside from the first track, which is a dumpster fire, it’s a solid effort. I am absolutely in LOVE with “This Human Train”. Its style is something of a departure from her usual, and it is beautifully executed. The bass part is immaculate. I have this song on repeat right now.