Bley/Peacock/Motian Reunion Tour Documented on New Album

Bley/Peacock/Motian: When Will The Blues LeaveThe classic jazz trio of Paul Bley, Paul Motian, and Gary Peacock released a reunion album in 1998 called Not Two, Not One. They spent the next year touring together in the U.S. and Europe, which Peacock says was over 35 years in the making.

“The three of us actually playing together, that hasn’t happened since 1963,” he told All About Jazz in 1999.

Now part of that magical tour has become its own album. When Will The Blues Leave showcases the trio during a concert at the Aula Magna di Trevano in Switzerland performing original works by Bley and Peacock as well as the Gershwin standard “I Loves You Porgy.” The title track is an Ornette Coleman song that crystallizes the band’s energy:

When Will The Blues Leave is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

When Will The Blues Leave Track List:

  1. Mazatlan
  2. Flame
  3. Told You So
  4. Moor
  5. Longer
  6. Dialogue Amour
  7. When Will The Blues Leave
  8. I Loves You Porgy

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts