Chick Corea and the Spanish Heart Band Release “Antidote”

Chick Corea and the Spanish Heart Band: AntidoteChick Corea has a new project called the Spanish Heart Band that has released their first album, called Antidote. The jazz pianist partially revisits his classic album, My Spanish Heart, for the record.

“This project began with an idea to put together a really exciting new band, make a recording, and launch a summer tour performing the new compositions and arrangements,” Corea writes. “But it evolved into something bigger. I decided to return to My Spanish Heart because it best captures my musical life and the spirit of our times. When we recorded it in 1976, I had already developed a deep connection with Latino musicians and music. I may be of Italian heritage, but my heart is Spanish.”

The band is full of jazz luminaries including bassist Carlitos del Puerto. “Everybody brings their thing. It’s like a good paella,” the bassist says. “It’s a lot of ingredients, but when you taste it [you say] wow!”

Antidote is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Antidote Track List:

  1. Antidote (feat. Rubén Blades)
  2. Duende
  3. The Yellow Nimbus – Pt. 1
  4. The Yellow Nimbus – Pt. 2
  5. Prelude to My Spanish Heart (feat. Gayle Moran Corea)
  6. My Spanish Heart (feat. Rubén Blades & Gayle Moran Corea)
  7. Armando’s Rhumba
  8. Desafinado (feat. Maria Bianca)
  9. Zyryab
  10. Pas De Deux
  11. Admiration

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts