Robert Randolph & The Family Band Release “Brighter Days”

Robert Randolph and The Family Band: Brighter DaysRobert Randolph and the Family Band are back with a new album called Brighter Days, which was produced by Dave Cobb. Randolph chose Cobb for his work with newer country stars like Chris Stapleton and Sturgill Simpson.

“Dave Cobb is just a guy who likes to record good music and good songs,” says Randolph. “He wanted to do something that was fun but it also gives you a gospel feeling. He knows the history of our band, coming from church and giving that fun church feeling to people.”

Randolph’s band is aptly named: each member is a relative of his. That includes bassist Danyel Morgan, who helps to deepen the groove with blues, gospel, and R&B lines. Check out his playing on “Second Hand Man”:

Brighter Days is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Brighter Days Track List:

  1. Baptise Me
  2. Don’t Fight It
  3. Simple Man
  4. Have Mercy
  5. Cut Em Loose
  6. Second Hand Man
  7. Cry Over Me
  8. I Need You
  9. I’m Living Off The Love You Give
  10. Strange Train

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts