Refused Releases “War Music”

Refused: War MusicSwedish hardcore-punk legends Refused have returned with their fifth album, entitled War Music. It’s the followup to 2015’s Freedom, which broke a 17-year break from new music from the band. As you can surmise from the title, it is a politically charged record.

“We wanted it to be an uncompromising record both thematically in the lyrics, but also in the music and the artwork and everything,” vocalist Dennis Lyxzén told Flood magazine. “Because I think it’s what the world needs. Creatively, it’s also very much a reaction to the Freedom record and how we approached that.”

War Music is also described as a return to form with “catchy, heavy, melodic blend of punk rock and hardcore – all wrapped in the catchiest of hooks.” It features the bass work of Magnus Flagge, who anchored the band during their early years and returned to the fold in 2012.

Check out the single “Blood Red”:

War Music is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

War Music Track List:

  1. REV001
  2. Violent Reaction
  3. I Wanna Watch the World Burn
  4. Blood Red
  5. Malfire
  6. Turn the Cross
  7. Damaged III
  8. Death In Vännäs
  9. The Infamous Left
  10. Economy of Death

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts