The Dave Pope Trio Releases “You and the Night and the Music”

The Dave Pope Trio: You and the Night and the MusicDrummer Dave Pope has released his first commercial recording with the album You and the Night and the Music. His debut effort comes in the form of trio work with the great John Patitucci and Pope’s brother Mike. Though many know Mike Pope as an astounding bassist and preamp designer, he took the opportunity to have a first of his own on the record.

“There are several special aspects of this record worth mentioning,” Dave Pope writes. “It is the debut recording of my brother Mike on piano, which is actually his ‘second’ instrument. Primarily known as a virtuoso bass player, this record gives Mike the opportunity to make a musical contribution as a pianist and as you will hear, the contribution is remarkable. Also, it joins Mike with his mentor on bass, John Patitucci of whom I have always been a big fan and am honored to have on the record.”

Patitucci sticks to the double bass for six-song collection, offering the big warm tone for which he’s known. Check out his groove and solo on “Once I Loved”:

You and the Night and the Music is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

You and the Night and the Music Track List:

  1. Once I Loved
  2. I Love You
  3. Sirabhorn
  4. Blues in the Pulpit
  5. Never Let Me Go
  6. You and the Night and the Music

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. JPM

    Thank you! Great album.