Clark Sommers’ Ba(SH) Returns with “Peninsula”

Clark Sommers' Ba(SH): PeninsulaChicago-based bassist Clark Sommers has released a new album with his Ba(SH) Trio, entitled Peninsula. The album features Sommers with saxophonist Geof Bradfield and drummer Dana Hall performing seven original compositions. Their unique instrumentation helps to create a new sound, Sommers says.

“This chord-less trio format presents many possibilities because of the absence of piano/guitar driven harmony. The bass acts as more of an immediate pivot for the harmony and is, therefore, more open-ended,” he explains. “I specifically wrote the music for those 2 personalities. I’ve been playing with them for over 20 years and they’re 2 of my closest friends and collaborators.”

You can hear that sound with the opening track, “High Tide”:

Peninsula is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Peninsula Track List:

  1. High Tide
  2. Morning Bell
  3. Goes Around
  4. The Forgotten
  5. Maybe Never
  6. Hope Dance
  7. Disambiguation

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts