Norah Jones Returns with “Pick Me Up Off The Floor”

Norah Jones: Pick Me Up Off The FloorNorah Jones has returned with her seventh studio album, entitled Pick Me Up Off The Floor. The record is a conglomeration of songs that Jones created over the last few years with an array of collaborators. Though she didn’t mean to make them into an album, Jones realized they “that they had this surreal thread running through them.”

“Living in this country — this world — the last few years, I think there’s an underlying sense of, ‘Lift me up. Let’s get up out of this mess and try to figure some things out,’” she says. “If there’s a darkness to this album, it’s not meant to be an impending sense of doom, if feels more like a human longing for connection. Some of the songs that are personal also apply to the larger issues we’re all facing. And some of the songs that are about very specific larger things also feel quite personal.”

Much of Pick Me Up Off The Floor’s work comes from a early session with Brian Blade. Though its textures vary throughout, the core sound of piano, bass, and drums persist on each track. Jones is joined on the low end by Christopher Thomas, John Patitucci, Jesse Murphy, and Josh Lattanzi. Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy also contributes bass (and guitars) to the lead single, “I’m Alive”:

Pick Me Up Off The Floor is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Pick Me Up Off The Floor Track List:

  1. How I Weep
  2. Flame Twin
  3. Hurts To Be Alone
  4. Heartbroken, Day After
  5. Say No More
  6. This Life
  7. To Live
  8. I’m Alive
  9. Were You Watching?
  10. Stumble On My Way
  11. Heaven Above

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts