Edgar Meyer and Crew Return with “Not Our First Goat Rodeo”

Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer & Chris Thile: Not Our First Goat RodeoThe amazing supergroup of Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer, and Chris Thile have teamed up once again for an album called Not Our First Goat Rodeo. A sequel to their 2011 album The Goat Rodeo Sessions, the record continues to explore the intersection of bluegrass, classical, and jazz at the highest levels of musicianship.

“We had that idea while we were working on the first Goat Rodeo because the chemistry was so wonderful between the four of us,” Ma told NPR. “We thought this was time to put another set of ideas down to mark a certain kind of progression. What’s interesting is that the music is even more vibrant. I think there’s more there, there’s even greater richness in textures and in content.”

As you may expect, Meyer’s bass work shifts between foundational and flabbergasting as he alternates between supporting and soloing in each track. Each song is a master class on what you can do with a bass.

Check out his creative lines and gorgeous tone on “Scarcely Cricket”:

Not Our First Goat Rodeo is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Not Our First Goat Rodeo Track List:

  1. Your Coffee is a Disaster
  2. Waltz Whitman
  3. The Trappings
  4. Every Note a Pearl
  5. Not For Lack of Trying
  6. Voila!
  7. Scarcely Cricket
  8. We Were Animals
  9. Nebbia
  10. 757 ml

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts