Christian McBride and Edgar Meyer Release “But Who’s Gonna Play the Melody?”

Christian McBride and Edgar Meyer: But Who's Gonna Play the Melody?Nearly a decade ago, one of the most epic bass duos of all time came into existence. Christian McBride and Edgar Meyer announced a tour and they subsequently performed on and off ever since then. Now they’ve released a monumental album humorously titled But Who’s Gonna Play The Melody?

“Edgar and I come from two different places,” McBride stated. “I come from the jazz and R&B worlds with a little bit of classical, and he comes from the bluegrass and classical worlds with a little bit of jazz. With this album we’re meeting each other in uncharted territory.”

“The center of our connection is in things that are earthy and funky and rooted in a blues dimension,” Meyer says. “Then it ranges out from there.”

The majority of the album was recorded with just their two basses, which they bow, pluck and tap to create a whole range of textures. Just as in their original tour performances, they also trade off playing piano to accompany one another.

For a song list, McBride and Meyer included original tunes as well as some jazz standards and bluegrass standards. Check out the groove and virtuosity of this take on Meyer’s “Barnyard Disturbance.”

But Who’s Gonna Play the Melody? Is out now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3). A vinyl edition is coming in April.

But Who’s Gonna Play the Melody? Track List:

  1. Green Slime
  2. Barnyard Disturbance
  3. Bebop, Of Course
  4. Bass Duo #1
  5. Solar
  6. Canon
  7. Philly Slop
  8. Interlude #1
  9. FRB 2DB
  10. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered
  11. Bass Duo #2
  12. Lullaby For A Ladybug
  13. Days Of Wine And Roses
  14. Interlude #2
  15. Tennessee Blues

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts