Bill Frisell Releases “Valentine” with Thomas Morgan

Bill Frisell: ValentineGuitarist Bill Frisell has released a new album called Valentine, which once again mixes original compositions with jazz standards, traditional songs, and covers. Although they have worked together in various formats, it is the first recording to feature his trio with drummer Rudy Royston and bassist Thomas Morgan. Each of the rhythm section members has been performing and recording with Frisell for years and their chemistry shows throughout the album.

Valentine explores the creative freedom of the trio format and the profound musical relationship between these three musicians after years of touring,” says Blue Note Records.

Frisell’s enigmatic playing is matched by Morgan and Royston, who perfectly support his every move. Check out the trio’s take on “We Shall Overcome”:

Valentine is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Valentine Track List:

  1. Baba Drame
  2. Hour Glass
  3. Valentine
  4. Levees
  5. Winter Always Turns To Spring
  6. Keep Your Eyes Open
  7. A Flower Is A Lovesome Thing
  8. Electricity
  9. Wagon Wheels
  10. Aunt Mary
  11. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  12. Where Do We Go?
  13. We Shall Overcome

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts