Paul McCartney Releases “McCartney III”

Paul McCartney: McCartney IIIFifty years after his debut solo album, music icon Paul McCartney has released McCartney III. The title is a misnomer as it is his eighteenth solo album, but just as with McCartney and McCartney II, the album is truly solo. The former Beatle recorded and self-produced the entire project during the lockdown.

McCartney overdubbed all of the instruments and utilized his glorious collection of instruments. “Paul’s array of vintage instruments he played on the new album have an even more storied history, including Bill Black of Elvis Presley’s original trio’s double bass alongside Paul’s own iconic Hofner violin bass, and a mellotron from Abbey Road Studios used on Beatles recordings, to name but a few,” a press release explains.

McCartney admits he wasn’t planning on releasing an album this year, but the quarantine inspired him to do so after returning to an older song. “When Winter Comes” was an unreleased track from the early ‘90s that the bassist revamped with a new passage. That created the album opener, “Long Tailed Winter Bird,” while the original song acts as the closing track.

You can get a glimpse of the creation of McCartney III with the video for “Find My Way”, directed by Roman Coppola. He used forty-six cameras to capture McCartney playing each instrument, including his trusty Hofner.

McCartney III is available now on CD, vinyl, cassette and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3). A special package also includes the songbook of piano/vocal/guitar arrangements for each song.

McCartney III Track List:

  1. Long Tailed Winter Bird
  2. Find My Way
  3. Pretty Boys
  4. Women and Wives
  5. Lavatory Lil
  6. Deep Deep Feeling
  7. Slidin’
  8. The Kiss of Venus
  9. Seize the Day
  10. Deep Down
  11. Winter Bird/When Winter Comes

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts