Pickpocket Releases “Refraction”

Pickpocket: RefractionMelbourne, Australia’s Pickpocket has returned with their third album, entitled Refraction. The eight-piece jazz/funk/fusion band’s new effort is described as a “journey from the 80’s funk sounds” to some “Dub/RnB vibes”.

It also marks the instrumental group’s first vocal collaboration on the Prince-inspired “Love Again.” “Whilst the majority of the recordings were completed in Melbourne in 2019, the final mixes arrived in early 2020 from Jason Kingsland (USA) who has also worked with acts such as Forq, The Kaiser Chiefs and Belle and Sebastian,” the band explains.

As he always does, bassist Craig Strain sits in the pocket the whole album. Check out the video for “How ‘Bout It?”:

Refraction is available now via Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon MP3. Physical copies will be coming in February.

Refraction Track List:

  1. How ‘Bout It?
  2. Sorry, It’s Been A While
  3. Love Again
  4. Refraction
  5. Bootstomp
  6. Sleep is Useless
  7. Oceanism

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts