Joel Hoekstra’s 13, featuring Tony Franklin, Release “Running Games”

Joel Hoekstra’s 13: Running GamesWhitesnake and Trans-Siberian Orchestra guitarist Joel Hoekstra has released his second album with his solo project, Joel Hoekstra’s 13. Running Games features another all-star cast of rockers in a format that focuses on the song. Altogether, the album is described as “‘70s/’80s classic hard rock with 2020’s muscle.”

“Years ago, I released three solo albums that were mainly instrumental guitar music,” the bandleader explains. “With Joel Hoekstra’s 13, I have started to work on something that showcases my production, writing, and playing in the genre that I’m known for, which is melodic hard rock. ‘Running Games’ is more focused and more mature compared to [debut] ‘Dying to Live’ and hopefully the fans will enjoy it!”

Hoekstra recruited Russell Alan for vocals with Jeff Scott Soto providing additional backup. Derek Sherinian plays keyboards while the powerhouse rhythm section of Vinny Appice and Tony Franklin hold things together. Hear “The Fretless Monster” on the song “Finish Line”:

Running Games is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Running Games Track List:

  1. Finish Line
  2. I’m Gonna Lose It
  3. Hard To Say Goodbye
  4. How Do You
  5. Heart Attack
  6. Fantasy
  7. Lonely Days
  8. Reach The Sky
  9. Cried Enough For You
  10. Take What’s Mine
  11. Running Games

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts