Kristin Korb Remagines Pop Songs on “What If?”

Kristin Korb: What If?Jazz bassist and vocalist Kristin Korb has released a new album that started with one little question: “What if… I made a pop album?” The resulting collection of songs, aptly named What If?, is a showcase of her talents over popular hits.

“I’ve been adding pop tunes (and songs I consider more pop-ish) to my repertoire for a few years now, primarily because of the specific requests of a concert promoter,” Korb explains. “She loves good stories as much as I do, and she has thrown me some interesting puzzles to solve. They aren’t songs I would normally select given my proclivities, but they have become some of my favorites.”

Undoubtedly, part of the reason they’ve become her favorites are due to her playful and swinging arrangements. The album begins with a funky little version of “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” before covering Barry Manilow’s “Copacabana”. Korb also gives her spin to music by Steve Wonder, Huey Lewis and the News, The Beatles, and more.

What If? is available now via Bandcamp, iTunes, Amazon MP3, and other streaming services.

What If? Track List:

  1. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
  2. Copacabana
  3. Overjoyed
  4. The Power of Love
  5. This Is My Life
  6. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  7. Can’t Buy Me Love

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts