Carl Mayotte Releases “Pop de Ville, Vol. 1”

Carl Mayotte: Pop de Ville, Vol. 1Bassist Carl Mayotte had a big year in 2020, despite the hardships all around the world. He was named Radio-Canada Jazz Revelation 2020-2021 and won the Prix de la Relève LOJIQ of the Festi Jazz International of Rimouski. He also released his debut album, Fantosme.

Now he’s keeping the momentum up with a new album called Pop de Ville, Vol. 1. Raised in Quebec and living in Montreal, Mayotte found his inspiration for the new record in a different city.

“Mixing different musical styles, ‘Pop de Ville, Vol. 1’ is a tribute to City Pop, a Japanese musical genre that fuses jazz fusion with 1980s pop, thus uniquely combining the accessible and the more intellectual sides of music, resulting in a sound in which the groove is limitless and the originality of the compositions surprises,” he writes.

You can hear the influences and some killer playing in this video for “Chasse à l’homme” featuring keyboardist Lalle Larsson:

Pop de Ville, Vol. 1 is available now through Bandcamp.

Pop de Ville, Vol. 1 Track List:

  1. Cocotte
  2. Junie
  3. Chasse à l’homme
  4. Sandy
  5. Mike Mercury

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. MikeyM.

    Now this is some badass fusion! Nice warm, rounded bass tone too.

  2. Mark S B

    cool !!!

  3. René Gignac

    Awesome musician! Great band ! Listen to his previous cd Fantosme is a Must!!