Wolfgang Van Halen Releases “Mammoth WVH”

Mammoth WVHAt long last, Wolfgang Van Halen’s solo project Mammoth WVH has released its debut album. Van Halen wrote, performed, and recorded all the parts, but he wanted to use a band name.

“The name Mammoth is really special to me,” says Wolf. “Not only was it the name of Van Halen before it became Van Halen, but my father was also the lead singer. Ever since my dad told me this, I always thought that when I grew up, I’d call my own band Mammoth, because I loved the name so much. I’m so thankful that my father was able to listen to and enjoy the music I made. Nothing made me happier than seeing how proud he was that I was continuing the family legacy.”

Although his family name looms large, Wolfgang successfully finds his own sound to live up to that legacy. The music on Mammoth WVH focuses heavily on the songwriting, trading flashy guitar solos for more hooks.

Check out the hilarious video for “Don’t Back Down” with Van Halen on all instruments:

Mammoth WVH is available now on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Mammoth WVH Track List:

  1. Mr. Ed
  2. Horribly Right
  3. Epiphany
  4. Don’t Back Down
  5. Resolve
  6. You’ll Be The One
  7. Mammoth
  8. Circles
  9. The Big Picture
  10. Think It Over
  11. You’re To Blame
  12. Feel
  13. Stone
  14. Distance (*Bonus Track)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts