Charnett Moffett Releases “New Love”

Charnett Moffett: New LoveBass virtuoso Charnett Moffett has returned with his seventeenth album as a leader, entitled New Love. The bassist describes the music, recorded in trio and quartet band formats, as a love letter to humanity.

“Music is a universal language that speaks to all people. In life, human beings are in the constant process of change — whether an individual is conscious of this process or not,” he writes.

Moffett features the fretless electric bass across the album and even shares vocal duties on four songs. He varies the textures of the album with his extremely able band: Jana Herzen on guitar and vocals, Corey Garcia and rising-star Malick Koly on drums, and Irwin Hall on tenor and soprano saxophones and alto flute.

“When you’re using the bass as a lead instrument — as a voice, to create melodies — and you have more space, the sound of the instrument can resonate more and be heard in a more complete way for its ‘new’ position,” Moffett explains.

Check out the joyful sounds of “Rejoice”:

New Love is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

New Love Track List:

  1. Swinging in the Realms
  2. We Remember
  3. Little Flowers
  4. Today
  5. Higher Dimensions
  6. I Didn’t Know
  7. Flying in the Air
  8. Etq
  9. New Love
  10. Spirit & Bride Song
  11. Love for the People
  12. Rejoice

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts