Charnett Moffett Goes All Electric on “Bright New Day”

Charnett Moffett: Bright New DayCharnett Moffett has returned with Bright New Day, an album described as “a genre-transcendent program that explores a wide range of sound, style, and emotion.” It features a new ensemble with violinist Scott Tixier, guitarist Jana Herzen, drummer Mark Whitfield Jr., and keyboardist Brian Jackson.

“I composed this album with intention to create emotional uplift and healing vibrations,” explains Moffett. “Each composition came out of an emotional feeling that I needed to express or address at an exceptionally challenging time in my life. Each composition here operates on a different set of musical laws that I asked the players to follow when using their instruments to express the harmonies, rhythms, melodies and flows between structured sections and improvisations.”

The exploratory release pushes the bassist in a new direction on his own instrument, as well. Moffett, who is best known for his virtuosic double bass playing, opted to record the whole album on his fretless electric.

“After doing several tours in Europe with my electric bass I found myself really motivated to do this,” he said. “I thought, ‘Why not do an all electric album?’ And so, I did. It’s definitely a different kind of record. We made it in spirit and truth and it represents a new time of my life.”

Check out the urgent groove on “Free the Slaves,” which also features an effects-laden solo from Moffett:

Bright New Day is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Bright New Day Track List:

  1. Holy Spirit
  2. Free the Slaves
  3. Precious Air
  4. O My God Elohim
  5. Set It Free
  6. Waterfalls
  7. Netting
  8. Bright New Day

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts