Dug Pinnick Unveils Fifth Solo Album, “Joy Bomb”

Dug Pinnick: Joy BombKing’s X frontman and bass hero Dug Pinnick has announced that his fifth solo album, entitled Joy Bomb, will be dropping on October 15th. The record will contain thirteen fresh original tracks, marking his first solo album of new material since 2013.

“Joy Bomb is a collection of tunes I’ve been writing for the last two years,” Pinnick says. “The pandemic has made me go deeper into myself and how to deal with everything and everyone in a new way. These songs are all about truth the way I see it, and I’m thankful that at 71 I can still make music that hopefully matters. Joy Bomb is my latest offer.”

The album is packed with the deep grooves and soul that the bassist has honed over his seven decades. Though a single has yet to be released, the album is described as tapping into all of his influences, including everyone from “Rage Against the Machine to Sly Stone to Black Sabbath.”

Joy Bomb is available for pre-order in multiple formats through Rat Pak Records.

Joy Bomb Track List:

  1. Jon Boy
  2. A Long Way From Home
  3. Key Changer
  4. Equally Divided
  5. I Can’t Fight This Feeling
  6. Like A Wolf
  7. Social Distancing
  8. Love And Fear
  9. Long Live Love
  10. Slaves
  11. The Poison
  12. Making Sense Of The Bones
  13. Like A Wolf (Reprise)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts