Norm Stockton Releases “Grooves & Sushi” Album and Deluxe Edition Set

Norm Stockton: Grooves & SushiBack in 2019, bass guru Norm Stockton launched a web series called “Grooves & Sushi” in which he called top-shelf musicians to make music and commune over a meal. The show recently wrapped its first season, and now the project has been released as an album as well as a Deluxe Edition USB version.

The 12 songs in the collection are all original, minus a take on Justin Timberlake’s “Mirrors”. Each episode of Grooves & Sushi showed the making of a song with guests including Gregg Bissonette (Ringo Starr/David Lee Roth), Eddie Brown (Stevie Wonder/Beyoncé), Chris Coleman (Prince/Beck), Mark Lettieri (Snarky Puppy), Brandyn Phillips (Ariana Grande), Brian Willett (OneRepublic), Zoro (Lenny Kravitz), and more.

The CD version of Grooves & Sushi contains only the music, while the Deluxe Edition comes with a plethora of goodies. The 32GB USB drive contains all 12 episodes of Grooves & Sushi in HD video, 12 full-song performances in HD, all four of Stockton’s Grooving for Heaven instructional DVD programs, all three of his albums as a leader (Grooves & Sushi, Tea in the Typhoon, Pondering the Sushi), and special features of his gear rundown and sushi hang outtakes.

Check out the incredible season finale with episode twelve, featuring the song “ Normenclature”:

Grooves & Sushi is available now on CD and Deluxe Edition through Stockton’s website.

Grooves & Sushi Track List:

  1. Zigged When Ya Shoulda Zagged
  2. Lunar Mints
  3. A Wristwatch on Mars
  4. Blizzard
  5. With a Touch of Avalanche
  6. Only When I Exist
  7. Tangibly Teriyaki
  8. Amber
  9. Field of Broken Glass
  10. Fragile When Fractured
  11. Mirrors
  12. Normenclature

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts