David Bowie’s Shelved “Toy”, Featuring Gail Ann Dorsey, Gets Full Release

David Bowie: ToyAfter two decades on the shelf, David Bowie’s 2001 album Toy has gotten an official release. The iconic singer had the idea to re-record the earliest songs from his career with his then-current band and release it as a surprise. Disputes with his label killed its release, though a bootleg copy leaked in 2011.

Bowie’s band at the time included Mark Plati, Sterling Campbell, Earl Slick, Mike Garson, Holly Palmer, Emm Gryner, and Gail Ann Dorsey. The bassist spoke on Toy’s release when it was announced back in October.

“Most of the recording session I hardly recall. We never ended up touring much of the material on the album, and as it was shelved, it kind of melted away and we were already off with David on his next adventure,” she explained on Facebook. “Must say, listening to this album after all this time, with an incredible mix by Mark Plati, the stellar musicianship from all the musicians and vocalists, and the undeniable brilliance of David’s sublime voice and songwriting genius, I am blown away by the blessing of having participated in such a classic recording that will forever live in the archives of the music of the great David Bowie.”

Check out Dorsey’s signature bass style on the single “You’ve Got A Habit of Leaving”:

Toy comes in a three-CD set including the full album, a second disc of alternate mixes and versions, and a third disc called Unplugged & Somewhat Slightly Electric mixes of the album.

The 3-CD Box Set is available now in addition to an LP box set and digital versions on iTunes and Amazon MP3.

Toy Track List:

Disc 1 – Toy:

  1. I Dig Everything
  2. You’ve Got A Habit Of Leaving
  3. The London Boys
  4. Karma Man
  5. Conversation Piece
  6. Shadow Man
  7. Let Me Sleep Beside You
  8. Hole In The Ground
  9. Baby Loves That Way
  10. Can’t Help Thinking About Me
  11. Silly Boy Blue
  12. Toy (Your Turn To Drive)

Disc 2 – Toy – Alternatives & Extras:

  1. Liza Jane
  2. You’ve Got A Habit of Leaving (alternative mix) *
  3. Baby Loves That Way (alternative mix) *
  4. Can’t Help Thinking About Me (alternative mix)
  5. I Dig Everything (alternative mix)
  6. The London Boys (alternative version)
  7. Silly Boy Blue (Tibet version)
  8. Let Me Sleep Beside You (alternative mix) *
  9. In The Heat Of The Morning
  10. Conversation Piece (alternative mix) *
  11. Hole In The Ground (alternative mix)
  12. Shadow Man (alternative mix) *
  13. Toy (Your Turn To Drive) (alternative mix) *

*Previously released

Disc 3 – Toy – Unplugged & Somewhat Slightly Electric:

  1. In The Heat Of The Morning (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  2. I Dig Everything (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  3. You’ve Got A Habit of Leaving (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  4. The London Boys (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  5. Karma Man (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  6. Conversation Piece (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  7. Shadow Man (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  8. Let Me Sleep Beside You (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  9. Hole In The Ground (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  10. Baby Loves That Way (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  11. Can’t Help Thinking About Me (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  12. Silly Boy Blue (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)
  13. Toy (Your Turn To Drive) (Unplugged & somewhat slightly electric mix)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts