Dave Stryker Releases “As We Are” with John Patitucci

Dave Stryker: As We AreGuitarist Dave Stryker has released a new album called As We Are, featuring a jazz quartet accompanied by a string quartet. Stryker went straight to the top to realize his compositions, enlisting pianist Julian Shore, drummer Brian Blade, and bassist John Patitucci for the affair. The gorgeous strings are provided by Sara Caswell, Monica K. Davis, Benni von Gutzeit, and Marika Hughes.

As We Are is Stryker’s 34th album as a leader and his musical maturity shows. The beautiful writing and tasteful solos create a deep musical experience.

Patitucci gets solos on the tracks “Hope” and “As We Were”, but his supporting bass lines help to create the album’s ethereal atmosphere. Check out this studio clip of “River Man”, featuring a violin solo by Caswell and a rich bass tone from Patitucci.

As We Are is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download through iTunes, Amazon MP3, and Bandcamp.

As We Are Track List:

  1. Overture
  2. Lanes
  3. River Man
  4. Hope
  5. Saudade
  6. One Thing at a Time
  7. As We Were
  8. Dreams Are Real
  9. Soul Friend

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts