Stuart Clayton Publishes “The Plectrum Bass Book”

Stuart Clayton: The Plectrum Bass BookStuart Clayton has released another great set of transcriptions in his latest offering, The Plectrum Bass Book. The collection of 16 complete bass lines highlights some of the best pick playing in bass history.

“Covering everything from rock and punk, to funk and fusion, this book celebrates the work of the world’s most highly regarded plectrum bassists,” Clayton writes. “Within these pages, you’ll find songs featuring session bassists Anthony Jackson, Tony Levin and Carol Kaye, rockers such as Roger Glover, Pat Badger, and Justin Chancellor, and funk players such as Bobby Vega.”

The song list includes Tim Armstrong’s blistering lines from Rancid’s “Maxwell Murder,” Anthony Jackson’s iconic “For the Love of Money” riff, Carol Kaye’s funky “Hikky Burr,” and more.

All of the transcriptions are written in standard notation with TAB accompaniment. Clayton also includes detailed analysis and performance techniques for recreating each bassist’s sound.

The Plectrum Bass Book is available now through Amazon in paperback.

The Plectrum Bass Book Song List:

  1. Carry On Wayward Son – Kansas
  2. Cupid’s Dead – Extreme
  3. Down in the Tube Station at Midnight – The Jam
  4. For the Love of Money – The O’Jays
  5. Games People Play – Mel Tormé
  6. Get the Funk Out – Extreme
  7. Highway Star – Deep Purple
  8. Hikky Burr – Quincy Jones
  9. I Get High On You – Sly Stone
  10. Maxwell Murder – Rancid
  11. Nice ‘n’ Sleazy – The Stranglers
  12. Nite Sprite – Chick Corea
  13. Roundabout – Yes
  14. Schism – Tool
  15. Sledgehammer – Peter Gabriel
  16. Whipping Post – The Allman Brothers Band

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts