Muse Returns with “Will of the People”

Muse: Will of the PeopleMuse’s music has often been about a dystopian future. However, their ninth studio album, Will of the People, focuses more on the here and now: a pandemic, wars, protests, authoritarianism, and natural disasters. It may be part of why it’s one of their heaviest yet.

“It feels a bit closer to reality this time,” vocalist Matt Bellamy tells Apple Music. “I think in the past, a lot of our stuff’s kind of delved into fictional dystopia, like George Orwell.”

Bassist Chris Wolstenholme helps to evoke a sense of urgency with his bass lines and enormous tones, which are often drenched in distortion and envelope filters. Aside from doubling heavy riffs, he also sticks out with his signature style on songs like “Compliance,” which takes its lead from the bass.

Will of the People is available now on CD, vinyl, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Will of the People Track List:

  1. Will Of The People
  2. Compliance
  3. Liberation
  4. Won’t Stand Down
  5. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
  6. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
  7. Kill Or Be Killed
  8. Verona
  9. Euphoria
  10. We Are Fucking Fucked

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts