John Patitucci Trio “Live In Italy” Now Available

John Patitucci Trio: Live In ItalyJazz bass icon John Patitucci had a fruitful tour of Italy in July of 2021, and now the rest of the world gets to hear the magic that happened along the way. His new album, Live In Italy, features him alongside saxophonist Chris Potter and drummer Brian Blade, whom he calls the some of the greatest musicians in the history of jazz.

“The chemistry between the three of us is born out of decades of playing together in different ensembles, and also as a trio at times,” Patitucci writes. “The freedom, connection and our shared influences make this trio one of my favorite groups to play in, ever. The venues that we played in throughout Italy, many outdoors, were very inspiring throughout this tour.”

A master of the six-string electric and double bass, Patitucci and his trio explore a variety of musical landscapes on the album. The song list ranges from a classic Charlie Parker blues called “Visa” to new compositions such as “Out West” and “Three Pieces of Glass”.

“‘Three Pieces of Glass’ is a piece inspired by a book that was suggested to me by a pastor friend,” Patitucci shares. “The three pieces of glass in our modern society are the phone, the computer and the television. The effects of these devices, positive and negative, are being felt in real time and are of great consequence in our world.”

Live in Italy is available now as a digital download through iTunes.

Live in Italy Track List:

  1. Visa
  2. Out West
  3. Three Pieces of Glass
  4. Mali
  5. Echoes of Scarlatti: In Memory of Chick Corea
  6. Without a Song

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts