Obsidious Release Impressive Debut Album, “Iconic”

Obsidious: IconicAt long last, the debut album from Obsidious is available. Iconic has been in the works for 15 months following the group’s formation in 2020. Members Rafael Trujillo, Sebastian Lanser, and Linus Klausenitzer left the ranks of Obscura to strike out on their own. The trio added vocalist Javi Perera to complete their sound.

“We consider ourselves the modern evolution of progressive and technical metal,” bassist Klausenitzer says. “To name a few bands: Dream Theater, Devin Townsend, Meshuggah, Opeth, Between the Buried and Me, Protest the Hero, Periphery, and Haken. As such, our music asks for many different moods and vibes. Javi’s vocals reinforce that idea, adding meaning and drama to it. While we still work as session musicians, Obsidious is now our main priority.”

Klausenitzer’s superb bass work on his fretless six-string gives the music a distinct personality. Whether driving with eighth notes or adding melodic counterpoints, his playing is sure to catch your ear. Check out his playthrough for the title track:

Obsidious also dropped a new video for the single “I Am,” with a video taken from their performance at Euroblast 2022:

Iconic is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Iconic Track List:

  1. Under Black Skies
  2. Sense of Lust
  3. Iconic
  4. Bound By Fire
  5. Iron & Dust
  6. I Am
  7. Delusion
  8. Devotion
  9. Nowhere
  10. Lake of Afterlife

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts