Avishai Cohen and Abraham Rodriguez, Jr. Release “Iroko”

Avishai Cohen and Abraham Rodriguez, Jr.: IrokoThe connection of bass and percussion is always an integral part of Latin music, and that’s precisely why the new album from Avishai Cohen and Abraham “Abe” Rodriguez, Jr. is so special. Iroko sees the two talented musicians joining forces for a duo album that is decades in the making.

Cohen first met Rodriguez in the early ‘90s when he first came to New York City. The Israeli bassist, who is renowned for his incredible rhythmic sense, clicked with the percussionist.

“Iroko is a long-time dream I have had since knowing and playing with Abraham Rodriguez Jr., a great, unique singer, congero and master of Afro Caribbean music in its full spectrum,” Cohen says. “[It’s been my dream] to do a Latin project with my favorite Latin musicians in New York. It starts with this concept…just me and Abe.”

Iroko features just bass, percussion, and voice, although it sounds like a much larger ensemble. “As Mongo Santamaria said, ‘Drum and chant.’ That’s what we have here,” says Rodriguez. “It’s universal, and for everyone, young and old. Even those who are bitter, when they hear these songs, will be touched and smile. Those who are angry? We’ll kill them with kindness.”

Check out one of the more complex grooves with “The Healer”:

Iroko is out now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Iroko Track List:

  1. The Healer
  2. Abie’s Thing
  3. Tintorera
  4. It’s a Man’s World
  5. Descarga Para Andy
  6. Avisale A Mi Vecina
  7. Thunder Drum
  8. Exodus
  9. A Bailar Mi Bomba
  10. Crossroads
  11. Venus
  12. A La Loma De Belen
  13. Fahina
  14. Fly Me To The Moon

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Luc

    loving this !