Oteil Burbridge’s “Lovely View of Heaven” Out Now

Oteil Burbridge: Lovely View of HeavenAt long last, Oteil Burbridge’s new solo album Lovely View of Heaven has been released. The record pays tribute to the music of Jerry Garcia and Robert Hunter, especially their ballads. It was the soulful slower songs from the Grateful Dead catalog that first connected with Burbridge, who played in Dead & Company. His vision was to reimagine the songs in the style of the ECM record label.

“The album was recorded in Iceland, and it serves as a deeply personal journey for Burbridge, who turned to the Garcia/Hunter catalog as a means of processing his own grief following the loss of his father, brother Kofi Burbridge, and mentor Col. Bruce Hampton,” his website states. “While paying homage to the Grateful Dead classics, Oteil Burbridge infuses his unique perspective into the Garcia/Hunter catalog, adding his own creative touches.”

Burbridge says the setting of Iceland during the winter made for an incredible environment that poured into the music. Get a deeper look at the album with this mini-documentary on the experience:

Check out Burbridge’s version of “High Time,” featuring a flute solo from his late brother, Kofi.

Lovely View of Heaven is available now digitally via iTunes, Amazon MP3, and more. A vinyl version will be shipping soon.

Lovely View of Heaven Track List:

  1. Stella Blue
  2. High Time
  3. Days Between
  4. Mission in the Rain
  5. So Many Roads
  6. Believe It Or Not
  7. China Doll
  8. Standing On the Moon
  9. High Time (feat. Kofi Burbridge)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts