Duran Duran Celebrates Halloween on “Danse Macabre”

Duran Duran: Danse MacabreJust in time for the holiday, Duran Duran has released Danse Macabre, a Halloween-themed album that includes three new songs as well as covers and revamped numbers from the band’s earlier works. The often upbeat band got the idea after playing a Halloween show last year.

“We had decided to seize the moment to create a unique, special event…the temptation of using glorious gothic visuals set to a dark soundtrack of horror and humor was simply irresistible,” keyboardist Nick Rhodes told Billboard.

Bassist John Taylor also notes that “Danse Macabre offers an interesting insight into the personality of the band. The music packs a real punch.”

Among the covers are “Paint It Black” by the Rolling Stones, “Bury a Friend” by Billie Eilish, and “Super Lonely Freak”, which blends their song “Lonely In Your Nightmare” with “Super Freak” by Rick James.

One of the more notable tracks is the band’s version of “Psycho Killer” by the Talking Heads. Taylor shares bass duties with Victoria De Angelis of Maneskin, who he asked to be on the track.

“It was insane being asked by one of the greatest bass players ever to play one of my favorite songs with Duran Duran,” De Angelis said in a statement. “Absolutely insane. I’m so grateful and honoured, it was so much fun recording together with John and he was so sweet to me and encouraged me to express myself and play it my own way. I’ll always remember that day.”

Danse Macabre is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Danse Macabre Track List:

  1. Nightboat
  2. Black Moonlight
  3. Love Voudou
  4. Bury A Friend
  5. Supernature
  6. Danse Macabre
  7. Secret Oktober 31st
  8. Ghost Town
  9. Paint It Black
  10. Super Lonely Freak
  11. Spellbound
  12. Psycho Killer (Featuring Victoria De Angelis)
  13. Confession In The Afterlife

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts