The Smile Release New Album, “Wall of Eyes”

The Smile: Wall of EyesThe Smile has returned with their second studio album, Wall of Eyes, which sees the expansion of their sonic creativity. Recorded between Oxford and London’s famed Abbey Road Studios, the eight-song collection features the trio joined by the London Contemporary Orchestra to create vast and sometimes dizzying soundscapes.

The band is comprised of Radiohead members Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood with drummer Tom Skinner. Each performs a multitude of instruments with Yorke and Greenwood handling the low end.

Yorke seems especially adept at creating rich bass lines to complement his singular vocal style. There are many great bass parts throughout the record with “Friend of a Friend” being a great example. Yorke plays higher on the neck to get a huskier bass tone for lower notes as well as hitting satisfying higher notes.

Check out Yorke’s playing and tone on his Guild Starfire:

Wall of Eyes is out now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Wall of Eyes Track List:

  1. Wall of Eyes
  2. Teleharmonic
  3. Read the Room
  4. Under Our Pillows
  5. Friend of a Friend
  6. I Quit
  7. Bending Hectic
  8. You Know Me!

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts