the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Paul McCartney Releases “New”

Paul McCartney: NewPaul McCartney has returned with his first album of all new material in six years, appropriately entitled New. While the title track actually carries Macca’s classic sound, the 71-year old bassist’s latest effort features textures and songs that are both familiar and foreign to his signature style. McCartney worked with four producers – Mark Ronson, Paul Epworth, Giles Martin and Ethan Johns – to create the collection of tunes after trouble picking just one.

“It turned out I got on with all of them!” McCartney shared. “We made something really different with each producer, so I couldn’t choose and ended up working with all four. I ended up falling for them all. We just had a good time in different ways. Ethan was a bit more acoustic-leaning, Mark would be a little more R&B… they each had a different approach but were all great in their own field.”

Fans will recognize the Beatles-esque bounce on tracks like “New” and “On My Way to Work,” while tracks like “Save Us” and “Appreciate” offer more of a modern twist.

New is available now on CD, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3). A Deluxe Edition is also available, including two bonus tracks.

Check out the lyric video for “New”:

New Track List:

  1. Save Us
  2. Alligator
  3. On My Way To Work
  4. Queenie Eye
  5. Early Days
  6. New
  7. Appreciate
  8. Everybody Out There
  9. Hosanna
  10. I Can Bet
  11. Looking At Her
  12. Road
  13. Turned Out
  14. Get Me Out Of Here