Pantera’s “Cowboys From Hell” Reissued and Expanded

Twenty years after its original release, Pantera’s classic album Cowboys From Hell has gotten a facelift with a new 3 CD release that contains the remastered music as well as previously unreleased songs and demos. Though it was technically the band’s fifth release, it is typically seen as the band’s first “official” album, and was one of the albums that defined the metal genre in the early ‘90s.

In a recent interview with Kik Axe Music, bassist Rex Brown talks about how some of the songs came out differently from the demos. When the interviewer mentions brings up the differences in song arrangements, Rex explains how Cemetary Gates evolved.

“…Dime and I were just sitting in the back of the office one day during the recording of that [with Terry], and started jamming and thought it was pretty cool and we could just take it and make a little diddy out of it,” he said. “That’s what it turned out to be — the intro to ‘Cemetery Gates’. We just went right in and recorded it and had it all planned out and the whole bit. It was pretty cool that in just downtime, just me and Dime with the acoustic guitars started coming up with that stuff. In fact, I play acoustic on the actual piece, and I play piano on that as well.”

Cowboys from Hell Reissue Track List:

Disc 1 – Original Album Remastered
1. Cowboys From Hell
2. Primal Concrete Sledge
3. Psycho Holiday
4. Heresy
5. Cemetary Gates
6. Domination
7. Shattered
8. Clash With Reality
9. Medicine Man
10. Message in Blood
11. The Sleep
12. The Art of Shredding

Disc 2 – 12 Unreleased/Rare Live Tracks
(Tracks 1-7 Recorded Live at Foundations Forum, Los Angeles, CA 9/15/90)
(Tracks 8-12 Recorded at For Those About to Rock: Monsters in Moscow, 1991)
1. Domination – Live*
2. Psycho Holiday – Live*
3. The Art Of Shredding – Live*
4. Cowboys From Hell – Live*
5. Cemetery Gates – Live*
6. Primal Concrete Sledge – Live*
7. Heresy – Live*
8. Domination – Live, ‘Alive And Hostile’ EP+
9. Primal Concrete Sledge – Live, ‘Alive And Hostile’ EP+
10. Cowboys From Hell – Live, ‘Alive And Hostile’ EP+
11. Heresy – Live, ‘Alive And Hostile’ EP+
12. Psycho Holiday – Live, ‘Alive And Hostile’ EP+

Disc 3 – Previously Unreleased Demos
1. The Will To Survive – Demo*
2. Shattered – Demo*
3. Cowboys From Hell – Demo*
4. Heresy – Demo*
5. Cemetery Gates – Demo*
6. Psycho Holiday – Demo*
7. Medicine Man – Demo*
8. Message In Blood – Demo*
9. Domination – Demo*
10. The Sleep – Demo*
11. The Art Of Shredding – Demo*

* Previously Unreleased
+ Unreleased in the U.S

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts