the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Doug Johns Releases “Stank”

Doug Johns: StankDoug Johns has just released his third solo album, Stank, via digital pre-release on CD Baby, with the physical CD will be available on October 22. He will also have it for purchase at his next performance at the Baked Potato in Studio City, California on the 21st.

For the project, Johns recruited musicians from his previous work, including Oz Noy, Kenny Anderson, Otmaro Ruiz and drummer Chris Ceja, who is the other half of the Doug Johns Duo. The new 10-track album is chock full of funky jams with a few ballad-y tunes mixed in, including the beautiful solo bass piece, “With You in Mind”.

Johns is an accomplished funk bass master who has worked with artists like Victor Wooten, Buddy Miles, Chuck Rainey and the LA Mass Choir, just to name a few. Stank is the follow-up to his successful 2008 release, Pocket Fulla Nasty.

Stank Track List:

  1. Bird’s Back Yard
  2. Booty Time
  3. Funk Tree
  4. Namaste
  5. Summer Song
  6. Satchmo
  7. The Red
  8. Up the Funk
  9. Stank
  10. With You in Mind