Jeff Coffin & The Mu’tet Release Live!, featuring Felix Pastorius

Jeff Coffin & The Mu'tet: Live!Jeff Coffin has released a new live album with his Mu’tet, available for download and streaming. The tracks are taken from the band’s 2010/2011 tour stops at Space in Chicago, Illinois and Momo’s in Austin, Texas.

The group is anchored by bassist Felix Pastorius, son of the late great Jaco Pastorius, whose funky and free-spirited playing propels the double-disc release. From the uber-funky “Tag” to the ethereal “Turiya,” Felix’s lines provide a solid foundation for his bandmates while expressing melodic ideas at the same time.

Felix joined the Mu’tet in 2002 and is also featured on the album Mutopia.

Jeff Coffin & The Mu’tet Live! Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Tag
  2. Al’s Greens
  3. The Evil Boweevil
  4. Turiya

Disc 2:

  1. The Mad Hatter Rides Again
  2. Move Your Rug
  3. L’Esperance
  4. Tall & Lanky

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Dave

    I like this group! This is actually my first record I listened to with Felix Pastorius on the bass. And I think you can clearly hear that Jaco was a strong influence for his son. On some songs it sounds almost as if Jaco was playing himself.

  2. some FUNKY maneuvers here….Felix sounds like his father…unbelievable!

  3. buon sangue non mente!!