Flying Colors Release Debut Album

Flying ColorsDrummer Michael Portnoy is making the most of his time since leaving Dream Theater in late 2010. Portnoy, who recently released an album and announced a tour with Adrenaline Mob has another album out, the solo debut by rock supergroup Flying Colors.

Flying Colors is the combo of Portnoy teaming up with bassist Dave LaRue, guitarist Steve Morse, vocalist Casey McPherson and keyboardist Neal Morse.

The group’s origin dates back to 2008, when executive producer Bill Evans brought the idea to each of the musicians. The musicians agreed, and they wrote and recorded the album in just nine days.

In a statement, the band said they “began with a simple idea: virtuoso musicians and a pop singer joining together to make new-fashioned music the old fashioned way.”

“This album has bits and pieces of what you’d expect from each of us,” says Portnoy. “The sum of all its parts led to brand new, unchartered territory for everyone involved.”

“What was really satisfying is that we were able to create so much new music in such a short amount of time,” LaRue said. “I mean, these guys are so incredible and it really has been fun doing this project and seeing how fast these minds work and create all this new material.”

Preview and download Flying Colors

Amazon MP3



Flying Colors EPK Video:

Flying Colors Track List

  1. Blue Ocean
  2. Shoulda Coulda Woulda
  3. Kayla
  4. The Storm
  5. Forever in a Daze
  6. Love Is What I’m Waiting For
  7. Everything Changes
  8. Better Than Walking Away
  9. All Falls Down
  10. Fool in My Heart
  11. Infinite Fire

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Awesome recording…Dave LaRue’s playing is awe-inspiring (actually, EVERYONE’s is!) GREAT album!