Amanda Ruzza Releases Debut Album, “This Is What Happened”

Amanda Ruzza: This Is What HappenedNo Treble readers will likely remember composer/bassist Amanda Ruzza, who wowed us all with her performance of “Confirmation” back in 2010.

The bassist has just released her debut album, This Is What Happened. Born in Brazil and currently based in New York, Ruzza brings jazz, Brazilian grooves, and hard funk together on the seven-track record to create a unique yet cohesive sound.

Ruzza wields a 6-string bass and delivers rock solid grooves and blistering solos throughout the album, pausing for the ambient and pensive “Monday, 3 A.M.”.

Personnel for the album is rounded out by drummer Mauricio Zottarelli, guitarist Alex Nolan, Mamiko Watanabe on the Fender Rhodes, pianist Cliff Korman, saxophonists David Binney and Lucas Pino, and trombonist Christ Stover.

Preview and download This is What Happened:

Amazon MP3:



This is What Happened Track List:

  1. Larry and I
  2. Pagão
  3. Costanera
  4. Monday, 3 A.M.
  5. Pimenta No Chôro
  6. Gin
  7. This Is What Happened

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts