The Prog Collective Releases Debut Album, Featuring Chris Squire, Tony Levin and Others

The Prog CollectiveMusician, producer and former Yes member Billy Sherwood has put together what he’s dubbed “the biggest super group of progressive rock players ever assembled,” to form The Prog Collective.

The group has released their self-titled album this week, featuring John Wetton (Asia), Tony Levin (King Crimson), Jerry Goodman (Mahavishnu Orchestra), Richard Page (Mr. Mister), Geoff Downes (Yes/Asia), Alan Parsons (Alan Parsons Project), Chris Squire (Yes), Rick Wakeman (Yes), Gary Green (Gentle Giant), Annie Haslam (Renaissance), Steve Hillage (Gong), John Wesley (Porcupine Tree), Tony Kaye (Yes), Colin Moulding (XTC) and others.

“The idea of assembling a collection of amazing artists from the progressive rock genre all on one record was an especially exciting concept to me. Inspired, I began writing and recording the [seven] songs that would become this album. I then sent those recordings out to some of my friends and musical heroes from bands like King Crimson, XTC, Asia, Gentle Giant, and of course my former band Yes,” Sherwood shares. “Soon, I started receiving vocal tracks and guitar and keyboard overdubs from studios all over the world, which I then mixed at my recording studio in Los Angeles. Despite the distances in geography, however, the feeling of the entire production is one of musical and spiritual unity – The Prog Collective!”

The Prog Collective is out now on CD and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3.)

Preview and download The Prog Collective:

The Prog Collective Track List:

  1. The Laws Of Nature
  2. Over Again
  3. The Technical Divide
  4. Social Circles
  5. Buried Beneath
  6. Following The Signs
  7. Check Point Karma

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts