Lynyrd Skynyrd Releases “Last of a Dyin’ Breed”, with Johnny Colt on Bass

Lynyrd Skynyrd: Last of a Dyin' BreedLynyrd Skynyrd has faced a lot of changes over the years, starting with the hardest one of all in 1977, when a plane crash took the lives of three of their members.

The band later reformed ten years later for a reunion tour, and several iterations of the band have carried on the Skynyrd name since then.

The current line up of Lynyrd Skynyrd has just released the band’s thirteenth studio album, Last of a Dyin’ Breed. Guitarist Gary Rossington is the only original member left, and the new album officially introduces bassist Johnny Colt to the group.

Colt is the original bassist for The Black Crowes who also performed with Train and Rockstar Supernova. Colt replaces Robert Kearns, who joined the band following bassist Ean Evans’ death in 2009.

As we reported back in May, Colt got a call for the gig and promptly agreed.

“What else do you say to Medlocke, Rossington and Van Zant? We’re talking southern rock royalty. We’re talking Lynyrd Skynyrd,” the bassist said. “The only thing out of my mouth was ‘when and where?!’”

The 11-track album, which is their first effort since 2009’s God & Guns, also features Johnny Van Zant on vocals, Rickey Medlocke on guitar and longtime drummer, Michael Cartellone. Last of a Dyin’ Breed is available on CD and in digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Preview and download Last of a Dyin’ Breed:

Last of a Dyin’ Breed Track List:

  1. Last Of A Dyin’ Breed
  2. One Day At A Time
  3. Homegrown
  4. Ready To Fly
  5. Mississippi Blood
  6. Good Teacher
  7. Something To Live For
  8. Life’s Twisted
  9. Nothing Comes Easy
  10. Honey Hole
  11. Start Livin’ Life Again

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts