the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Paul McCartney Releases “Live Kisses” DVD

Paul McCartney: Live KissesEarlier this year, former Beatle Paul McCartney stepped away from the bass for the album Kisses on the Bottom, an effort that instead featured a host of studio and jazz musicians accompanying him as he sang traditional pop tunes that shaped his early musical understanding. Now Sir Paul has followed up with a live DVD called Live Kisses.

Recorded in the legendary Capitol Studios in Hollywood, the release is anchored by jazz bassist John Clayton, who also appeared on the studio album. His bouncy swing and melodic lines help to glue the ensemble together. He also gets some duet time with McCartney, thanks to pianist Diana Krall. Clayton told us the story in a recent interview.

“One of the songs that we did was ‘The Glory of Love,’” he said. “We did it and rehearsed it in the studio and everyone contributed ideas. Then we recorded it and when we were done, it was kind of like, ‘Ok, let’s move on.’ But Diana Krall said, ‘Can we do that one more time? And this time, Paul, I just want to have it be a duet between you and John in the beginning.’ So that’s the way we did it. He’s open that way, and that’s the kind of freedom that he encourages. So I highly respect that guy.”

Live Kisses comes packaged with a 40-page hardback book filled with photos from the event and rehearsals. The DVD itself also contains bonus features including all six versions of the video for “My Valentine,” a behind the scenes featurette, and an interview with McCartney and producer Tony LiPuma.

Live Kisses Track Listing:

  1. I ‘m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
  2. Home (When Shadows Fall)
  3. It’s Only A Paper Moon
  4. The Glory Of Love
  5. More I Cannot Wish You
  6. We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)
  7. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
  8. My Valentine
  9. Always
  10. My Very Good Friend The Milkman
  11. Bye Bye Blackbird
  12. Get Yourself Another Fool
  13. My One And Only Love

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts