Primus Reissues “Sailing the Seas of Cheese”

Primus: "Sailing the Seas of Cheese" ReissueNearly 22 years to the day, Primus’ second studio album, Sailing the Seas of Cheese is being reissued. Bassist Les Claypool oversaw the restoration project, which has been remixed for the new release.

“Musically, it holds up incredibly well. Sonically, it holds up fairly well,” Claypool said about the original album. “There’s some old-style reverbs that are a little bit syrupy. With modern technology, we can fix some of that stuff. But we don’t want to mess with it too much, because it is what it is. We want to fatten it up a little bit.”

The reissue is available in two Digipak configurations, each with the new stereo mix on CD and the new 5.1 surround mix on DVD and Blu-ray. Three previously unreleased bonus tracks make this new edition, including two live recordings from the band’s 2012 “3D Tour” – “Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers” and “American Life” – and a Bassnectar Remix of “Here Come The Bastards.” A 200-gram vinyl LP edition is also being released.

The album was part of the early 90’s alternative revolution, in answer to the 80’s mainstream music.

“Mainstream rock was pretty cheesy,” says Claypool. “We were going to either sink or swim, hence ‘Sailing The Seas Of Cheese’.”

The Sailing the Seas of Cheese reissue is available in a CD+DVD package, deluxe edition, vinyl and digital formats (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sailing the Seas of Cheese Disc One Tracks:

  1. Seas Of Cheese
  2. Here Come The Bastards
  3. Sgt. Baker
  4. American Life
  5. Jerry Was A Race Car Driver
  6. Eleven
  7. Is it Luck?
  8. Grandad’s Little Ditty
  9. Tommy The Cat
  10. Sathington Waltz
  11. Those Damn Blue-Collar Tweekers
  12. Fish On (Fisherman Chronicles, Chapter II)
  13. Los Bastardos

Sailing the Seas of Cheese CD Bonus Tracks:

  1. Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers (Live at Bass Hall, Austin, TX – 11/7/12)
  2. American Life (Live at Tabernacle, Atlanta, GA – 10/31/12)
  3. Here Come The Bastards (Bassnectar Remix)

Sailing the Seas of Cheese DVD Audio Options:

  • Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (48kHz/24-bit)
  • Dolby Digital Stereo (48kHz/24-bit)
  • DTS 5.1 Surround (48kHz/24-bit)

Sailing the Seas of Cheese Blu-ray Audio Options:

  • Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Surround Sound (96kHz/24-bit)*
  • PCM (96kHz/24-bit)
  • PCM Stereo (96kHz/24-bit)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Leave a Reply to Kyle Cannella Cancel reply

  1. Awesome, I can’t wait to go buy this!